About

Netherlands Institute of Governance (NIG) is a joint research school in which 12 universities in the Netherlands and Flanders collaborate offering a post graduate program for PhD candidates and a vibrant research network with research colloquia, an annual conference and more.

The 12 NIG-member universities are Delft University of Technology, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Leiden University, Maastricht University, Radboud University Nijmegen, Tilburg University, University of Twente, Utrecht University, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and Ghent University, University of Amsterdam and University of Antwerp. NIG connects scholars in public administration and political science.

In 2019 the doctorate programme has been accredited by the European Association for Public Administration Accreditation (EAPAA) for a term of seven years.

The NIG Directorate is located at the Utrecht University. The management team of the NIG consists of:

Prof. dr. Thomas Schillemans | Scientific Director
Email: t.schillemans@uu.nl

Dr. Noortje de Boer | Managing Director Research and Communication
Email: n.c.deboer@uu.nl

Dr. Sjors Overman | Managing Director Education
Email: s.p.overman@uu.nl

Esther Verheijen | Office manager
Email: nig@uu.nl

The Board of NIG consists of representatives of the member universities and an independent chairman. The board is in charge of the overall strategy and decisions regarding NIG’s future. Also, they determine the annual budget and annual reports.

Prof.dr. Tannelie Blom, Maastricht University
Email: blom@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Prof.dr. Frits van der Meer, Leiden University 
Email: f.m.van.der.meer@fgga.leidenuniv.nl

Prof.dr. Ariana Need, University of Twente
Email: a.need@utwente.nl

Prof.dr. Barbara Vis, Utrecht University
Email: b.vis@uu.nl

Prof.dr. Erik Hans Klijn, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Email: klijn@essb.eur.nl

Dr. Duco Bannink, VU University Amsterdam
Email: d.b.d.bannink@vu.nl

Dr. Wijnand Veeneman, Delft University of Technology
Email: w.w.veeneman@tudelft.nl

Prof.dr. Ellen Mastenbroek, Radboud University Nijmegen
Email:  e.mastenbroek@fm.ru.nl

Prof.dr. Martijn Groenleer, Tilburg University
Email: m.l.p.groenleer@tilburguniversity.edu

In the Advisory Council all participating universities are represented as well as the PhD Council. This council provides advice to the directors on almost all activities of NIG, such as the Annual Work Conference, the establishment of new Research Colloquia, changes in NIG’s strategy and the training program for PhD students. 

Dr. Wouter van Dooren, University of Antwerp 
Email: wouter.vandooren@uantwerpen.be

Dr. Wesley Kaufmann, Tilburg University
Email: w.kaufmann@uvt.nl

Dr. Ingmar van Meerkerk, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Email: vanmeerkerk@essb.eur.nl

Dr. Rik de Ruiter, Leiden University
Email: r.de.ruiter@fgga.leidenuniv.nl

Prof.dr. Eva Knies, Utrecht University
Email: e.knies@uu.nl

Prof.dr. Esther Versluis, Maastricht University
Email: e.versluis@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Prof.dr. Michiel de Vries, Radboud University Nijmegen
Email: m.devries@fm.ru.nl

Dr. Thomas Hoppe, Delft University of Technology
Email: T.Hoppe@tudelft.nl

Dr. Marcel Hanegraaff, University of Amsterdam
Email: M.C.Hanegraaff@uva.nl

Erik-Jan van Dorp, Utrecht University, chair PhD Council. Email: phd-council-nig@uu.nl ; g.h.vandorp@uu.nl

Erik-Jan van Dorp, Utrecht University, chair PhD Council. Email: phd-council-nig@uu.nl ; g.h.vandorp@uu.nl

Bernard Bernards, Leiden University
Email: b.j.t.h.bernards@fgga.leidenuniv.nl

Angelica Yeraminovich, Maastricht University
Email: a.yeraminovich@maastrichtuniversity.nl

Ruud van Druenen, Radboud University Nijmegen
Email: r.vandruenen@fm.ru.nl

Wieke Blijleven, Tilburg University
Email: W. Blijleven@uvt.nl

Rick Joossen, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Email: joosen@essb.eur.nl

Franziska Eckardt, University of Twente
Email: f.eckardt@utwente.nl

Evelijn Martinius, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Email: r.e.martinius@vu.nl

Please note that NIG does NOT employ researchers and does not carry out research on its own.

NIG facilities are for MEMBERS ONLY